Undergraduate Research Awards Presented to 23 WSU Students

PULLMAN, Wash.–The Office of Undergraduate Research, a unit of the Division of Academic Engagement and Student Achievement, at Washington State University has named 23 students as recipients of nearly $38,000 in awards in support of their mentored research, scholarship, and creative activities for the 2022-23 academic year.

Students received five Auvil Scholars Fellowship awards, three Scott and Linda Carson Undergraduate Research Excellence awards, two WSU Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Research awards, one DeVlieg Foundation award, two Team Mentoring Program Research (TMP) awards, two TMP/LSAMP awards, two Emeritus Society Grant in Arts and Humanities awards, and six general undergraduate research awards.

The awardees include three sophomores, six juniors, and 14 seniors from three WSU campuses—21 students from WSU Pullman, one from WSU Spokane, and one from WSU Vancouver, as identified in the list below. They represent around 20 majors across STEM and non-STEM fields.

Auvil Fellows

  • Jacob Burrsma, a junior neuroscience, and psychology major mentored Kristen Delevich
  • Faraz Abounorinejad, a senior physics and astronomy major mentored by James Brozik
  • Madison Arreola, a sophomore biochemistry major mentored by Wipawee Winuthavanon
  • Lydia Halvorson, a sophomore agricultural biotechnology major mentored by Rishikesh Ghogara Erich Whitley, a sophomore chemical engineering major mentored by Su Ha

Undergraduate Research Fellows

  • Caleb Kimbell, a senior biochemistry, major mentored by Asaph Cousins
  • John Bussey, a senior material sciences and engineering major mentored by John McCloy
  • Katherine Busiek, a senior chemistry major mentored by Liane Moreau
  • Clara Ehinger, a junior chemical engineering major mentored by Su Ha
  • Madeleine Harvey, a senior basic medical sciences biology major mentored by Kanako Hayashi
  • Hannah Peha, a senior agricultural biotechnology major mentored by Robert Brueggeman

Carson Fellows

  • Charis Williams, a junior nursing major mentored by Marian Wilson
  • Isabelle Busch, a junior biology major mentored by Ryan Driskell
  • Katy Ayers, a senior biochemistry, bioengineering major mentored by Nicholas Naeger

TMP Scholars

  • Kylee Lenkersdofer, a senior bioengineering major mentored by Kristen Delevich
  • Justin Pilgrim, a senior mechanical engineering major mentored by Ming Luo


  • Ximena Herrera, a senior neuroscience major mentored by Angela Hendricks
  • Sophie Shirali, a junior neuroscience major mentored by Travis Brown

DeVlieg Fellows

  • Yuness Badiei, a senior electrical engineering major at WSU Vancouver mentored by Josue Campos do Prado

WSU Emeritus Society

  • Tanya Rivera, a senior speech and hearing sciences major at WSU Spokane mentored by Georgina Lynch
  • Nakia Cloud, a senior anthropology major mentored by Trevor Bond

Media contacts:

Jeremy Lessmann, Director, WSU Office of Undergraduate Research, jlessman@wsu.edu

Madeline Neigel, Senior Marketing and Communications Assistant, madeline.neigel@wsu.edu